Skip to main content


Meeting of the Slovenia-Styria Joint Committee

Brdo pri Kranju, 13 December 2017 – Representatives of Slovenia and the Austrian province of Styria met for the 4th meeting of the Slovenia-Styria Joint Committee, co-chaired by Minister Erjavec and the Governor of Styria, Hermann Schützenhöfer. The participating parties issued a joint declaration.


As part of the Joint Committee, the Slovenian ministries and the Styrian Government offices deal with issues concerning residents on both sides of the border, projects in the common interest, and exchange experience and best practices. The meeting reviewed cooperation on public administration, education, social policies, spatial planning and the environment, protection against natural and other disasters, the economy, tourism and culture. The delegations also discussed health-care policies for the first time. The two sides confirmed the arrangement to enhance and continue their cooperation.
The Joint Committee meets once annually for a plenary session, alternately in Slovenia and Styria, while work in individual areas is done throughout the year. The next meeting is scheduled for the second half of 2018 in Styria, Austria.
Slovenia and Styria agreed to establish cooperation in the form of a joint committee on 6 June 2013, during a meeting between Minister Erjavec and the then Governor of Styria, Franz Voves. The agreement was made due to mutual interest in enhancing cooperation between Slovenian ministries and the Styrian Government offices.